Throwing in a Tuppence Worth…

“I am so clever that sometimes I don’t understand a single word of what I am saying”

– Oscar Wilde, The Happy Prince and Other Stories

A blog. Another blog. Just when the medium seemed to be dying away in a flurry of podcasts and other means of connecting idle thoughts with idle hands (or ears), along comes another one.  And shur what of it? We’re well into the red in the online credit union of opinions and views – what’s another tuppence drawn out at very low interest.

So I’m opening the ledger. A starting point at collecting my own invariably rambling thoughts in some sort of coherent and documented format. As an Irishman living in London, I find plenty of time sitting on tubes, buses, planes, or just generally walking the streets of this great city with my thoughts to myself. But no longer. Now they’re here. I’ve always enjoyed writing – not so much note taking, letter writing or anything of actual use. But from national school essays to dabbling as a part-time, zero-use sports journalist in university, the written word has always fascinated me. So in an effort to keep up some sort of practice and hopefully offer the odd entertaining or useful insight, I’ve decided to set up this blog. And as a Paddy abroad, what better way to open the account than by borrowing from one of Ireland’s most celebrated writers and emigrants.

It’s all downhill from here.

Leave a Reply

